08 The Edward R. Murrow Award 2022

Best TV, video or documentary interpretation of international affairs with a run time up to 30 minutes

AWARD NAME: The Edward R. Murrow Award 2022
RECIPIENT: Jeremy Young, Femi Oke, Laila Al-Arian, Neil Brandvold, Jeremy Dupin, Abdulai Bah and Warwick Meade
AFFILIATION: Al Jazeera English
HONORED WORK: “Al Jazeera Fault Lines – No Country for Haitians”

Al Jazeera ventures into the perilous anarchy in Haiti to report a sorely under-covered story, one with high political stakes for the U.S. In one of the world’s most dangerous countries for journalists, the correspondent captures the daily terror and trials of her characters, showing how they are caught in a Kafkaesque immigration trap, which she contrasts with the outpouring of support for Ukraine’s refugees. Scenes of Haiti’s calamitous upheaval leave the anodyne explanations from the State Department official interviewed sounding bafflingly disconnected from the reality on the ground.

Link to the honored work:
Al Jazeera Fault Lines – No Country for Haitians

Citation for Excellence:
Ben C. Solomon, Adam Desiderio, Zachary Caldwell, Julia Kochetova and Ilaria Polsonetti
“Battle for Bakhmut”