OPC Award Judges

OPC Award Judges for work published in 2021:

Head judge: Scott Kraft, Los Angeles Times


The Hal Boyle Award

Best newspaper, news service or digital reporting from abroad

Peter Spiegel (head), Financial Times

Jamil Anderlini, Politico Europe

Julian Barnes, The New York Times

Heather Timmons, Reuters

Nancy Yussef, The Wall Street Journal


The Bob Considine Award

Best newspaper, news service or digital interpretation of international affairs

Barbara Demick (head), author

Gady Epstein, The Economist

Razia Iqbal, BBC

Carlos Rajo, Charter Communications

Keith Richburg, Hong Kong University


Photo Categories


The Robert Capa Gold Medal Award

Best photographic reporting from abroad requiring exceptional courage and enterprise published in any medium


The Olivier Rebbot Award

Best photographic news reporting from abroad published in any medium


The Feature Photography Award

Best feature photography on an international theme published in any medium


The Photo Category Jury


Daniella Zalcman (head), freelance photojournalist

Jovelle Tamayo, independent photojournalist

Sana Ullah, National Geographic Society

Andrea Wise, ProPublica

Cengiz Yar, Rest of World


The Lowell Thomas Award

Best radio, audio, or podcast coverage of international affairs

Ann Cooper (head), Columbia Journalism School

Ibby Caputo, independent journalist

Lisa Cohen, duPont-Columbia awards

Anne Garrels, former NPR senior correspondent


The David Kaplan Award

Best TV or video spot news reporting from abroad

David A. Andelman (head), author

Jim Bittermann, former CNN

Steve Kroft, former 60 Minutes

Jim Laurie, former ABC

Scotti Williston, former CBS


The Edward R. Murrow Award

Best TV, video or documentary interpretation of international affairs with a run time up to 30 minutes

Vivienne Walt (head), TIME magazine

James Graff, The Wall Street Journal

Nevine Mabro, Channel 4 News

Steven Mufson, The Washington Post

Clive Myrie, BBC Television


The Peter Jennings Award

Best TV, video or documentary about international affairs with a run time over 30 minutes

Paula Dwyer (head), Bloomberg

Josh Fine, HBO’s “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel”

Patricia Guerra, former CBS 60 Minutes

Abi Wright, Columbia Journalism School


The Ed Cunningham Award

Best magazine-style, long-form narrative feature in print or digital on an international story

Megan Stack (head), author

Melissa Chan, The Global Reporting Centre

Michael Serrill, Past OPC President

Tim Sullivan, The Associated Press

Tim Weiner, author, former New York Times


The Best Cartoon Award

Best print or digital graphic journalism, including cartoons, on international affairs

Rob Rogers (head), freelance

Kevin Kallaugher, The Economist

Tony Norman, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Jenny Robb, Ohio State University


The Morton Frank Award

Best international business news reporting in TV, video, radio, audio or podcast

Allan Dodds Frank, former investigative correspondent, ABC and CNN

Susan Antilla, independent journalist

Kathleen Campion, independent journalist

William Holstein, OPC Foundation

Michael LaForgia, The New York Times


The Malcolm Forbes Award

Best international business news reporting in newspapers, news services, magazines or digital

Robert Friedman (head), Bloomberg News

Amanda Bennett, former Voice of America

Hannah Dreier, Washington Post

Mary Rajkumar, The Associated Press

Amanda Bennett and Hannah Dreier recused themselves from voting.


The Cornelius Ryan Award

Best non-fiction book on international affairs

Daniel Hertzberg (head), retired

John Bussey, The Wall Street Journal

Jean Guerrero, Los Angeles Times

Jennifer Siebens, retired

Amy Wilentz, author


The Madeline Dane Ross Award

Best international reporting in the print medium or digital showing a concern for the human condition

Hannah Allam (head), Washington Post

Graham Lee Brewer, MSNBC

Phillip W.d. Martin, WGBH-Boston

Prashant Rao, The Atlantic

Tina Susman, TIME magazine


The David A. Andelman and Pamela Title Award

Best international TV, video, radio, audio or podcast reporting showing a concern for the human condition

Deidre Depke (head), Past OPC President

Hendrik Hinzel, VICE News

Anup Kaphle, Rest of World

Derek Kravitz, Columbia and Stanford’s Brown Institute for Media Innovation

Minky Worden, Human Rights Watch


The Joe and Laurie Dine Award

Best international reporting in any medium dealing with human rights

Anya Schiffrin (head), Columbia University

Alison Bethel McKenzie, Report for America

Rebecca Chao, The New York Times

Samantha McCann, Solutions Journalism Network

Laura N. Pérez Sánchez, freelance


The Whitman Bassow Award

Best reporting in any medium on international environmental issues

Kim Murphy (head), The New York Times

Jeff Fleishman, Los Angeles Times

Neela Banerjee, NPR

Bob Drogin, independent journalist

Raghuram Vadarevu, The Associated Press

Kim Murphy recused herself from deliberations on The New York Times entry and the final award.


The Robert Spiers Benjamin Award

Best reporting in any medium on Latin America

Richard Boudreaux (head), The Wall Street Journal

Tony Cavin, NPR

June Carolyn Erlick, ReVista: The Harvard Review of Latin America

Ricardo Sandoval-Palos, PBS

Paulina Villegas, The Washington Post


The Kim Wall Award

Best story or series of stories on international affairs using creative and dynamic storytelling techniques

Farnaz Fassihi (head), The New York Times

Kate Brooks, documentary filmmaker

Chiké Frankie Edozien, NYU-Accra

Nour Malas, Los Angeles Times

Miguel Paz, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Gerry Shih, The Washington Post


The Roy Rowan Award

Best investigative reporting in any medium on an international story

James B. Steele (head), author and independent journalist

Sarah Cohen, Arizona State University

Vernon Loeb, Inside Climate News

Jodi Schneider, Bloomberg Television and Radio

Joe Stephens, Princeton University


The Flora Lewis Award

Best commentary in any medium on international news

Bill Keller (head), freelance

Deborah Amos, NPR

John Daniszewski, The Associated Press

Scott MacLeod, former TIME magazine

David Shipley, Bloomberg