OPC Award Judges

OPC Award Judges for work published in 2023:

Head judge: John Daniszewski, The Associated Press

The Hal Boyle Award
Best newspaper, news service or digital reporting from abroad

Peter Spiegel (head), Financial Times
Luke Baker, former Reuters
Julian Barnes, The New York Times
David Crow, The Wall Street Journal
Suzanne Lynch, Politico

Julian Barnes recused himself from discussions of the New York Times’ Israel/Gaza submission.

The William Worthy Award
Best newspaper, news service or digital interpretation of international affairs

Barbara Demick (head), author, former Los Angeles Times
Julie Makinen, San Francisco Standard
Nomi Morris, University of California Santa Barbara
Carlos Rajo, New York One/Charter Communications
Keith Richburg, The Washington Post

Photo Categories

The Robert Capa Gold Medal Award
Best photographic reporting from abroad requiring exceptional courage and enterprise published in any medium

The Olivier Rebbot Award
Best photographic news reporting from abroad in any medium

The Danish Siddiqui Award
Best feature photography on an international theme published in any medium

The Photo Category Jury

Daniella Zalcman (head), independent photographer
Kate Bubacz, The Wall Street Journal
Kholood Eid, independent photographer
Virginia Lozano, NPR
Jennifer Samuel, The Washington Post

The Lowell Thomas Award
Best radio, audio, or podcast coverage of international affairs

Brian Carovillano (head), NBCU News Group
Amanda Barrett, The Associated Press
Philana Patterson, The Wall Street Journal

The David Kaplan Award
Best TV or video spot news reporting from abroad

David A. Andelman (head), Substack, Andelman Unleashed
Jim Bittermann, former CNN, ABC
Paul Brandus, former NBC
Scotti Williston, former CBS

The Edward R. Murrow Award
Best TV, video or documentary interpretation of international affairs with a run time up to 30 minutes

Vivienne Walt (head), TIME, FORTUNE
Ric Esther Bienstock, Good Soup Productions
Nevine Mabro, Channel 4 (UK)
Steven Mufson, The Washington Post
Simon Robinson, Reuters
Jyoti Thottam, The New York Times

The Peter Jennings Award
Best TV, video or documentary about international affairs with a run time over 30 minutes

Paula Dwyer (head), former Bloomberg, The New York Times
Rebecca Corbett, The New York Times
Josh Fine, freelance investigative journalist
Patricia Guerra, ABC News Nightline
Abi Wright, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism Professional Prizes Program

The Ed Cunningham Award
Best magazine-style, long-form narrative feature in print or digital on an international story

Megan Stack (head), author
Thanassis Cambanis, Century International
Melissa Chan, independent journalist
Scott Kraft, Los Angeles Times
Tim Weiner, author

The Best Cartoon Award
Best print or digital graphic journalism, including cartoons, on international affairs

Kevin KAL Kallaugher (head), The Economist, Baltimore Sun
Ann Telnaes, The Washington Post
Matt Wuerker, Politico

The Malcolm Forbes and Morton Frank Award
Best international business news reporting in any medium

Allan Dodds Frank (head), retired business investigative correspondent
Tim Ferguson, former Forbes Asia
William J. Holstein, author, former BusinessWeek
Doyinsola Oladipo, Reuters
Kitty Pilgrim, author, former CNN

The Continuing Coverage of Conflict Award
Best reporting on a continuing international conflict or crisis in any medium

Azmat Khan (head), The New York Times, Columbia University
Amran Abocar, Reuters
Singeli Agnew, freelance
Anup Kaphle, Rest of World
Sandra Stevenson, The Washington Post

Amran Abocar recused herself from voting on the Reuters submission.

The Cornelius Ryan Award
Best non-fiction book on international affairs

Daniel Hertzberg (head), former Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg
John Bussey, former Wall Street Journal
Kathryn Harris, former Los Angeles Times, Bloomberg, Forbes, FORTUNE
Jennifer Siebens, former CBS News
Richard Tofel, Gallatin Advisory LLC

The Madeline Dane Ross Award
Best international reporting in the print medium or digital showing a concern for the human condition

Hannah Allam (head), The Washington Post
Sewell Chan, Texas Tribune
Jacqueline Charles, Miami Herald
Vivian Salama, The Wall Street Journal
Andrew Sussman, NPR

The David A. Andelman and Pamela Title Award
Best international TV, video, radio, audio or podcast reporting showing a concern for the human condition

Deidre Depke (head), Overseas Press Club Past President
Hendrik Hinzel, VICE News
Anup Kaphle, Rest of World
Derek Kravitz, MuckRock
Minky Worden, Human Rights Watch

The Joe and Laurie Dine Award
Best international reporting in any medium dealing with human rights

Jeffrey Fleishman (head), Los Angeles Times
Shashank Bengali, The New York Times
Louise Roug Bokkenheuser, writer
Bob Drogin, freelance writer
Efrain Hernandez Jr., The Washington Post

The Whitman Bassow Award
Best reporting in any medium on international environmental issues

Kim Murphy (head), The New York Times
Marla Cone, Cal Matters
Michael Kodas, Inside Climate News
Rebecca Leber, independent climate journalist
Susanne Rust, Los Angeles Times

The Robert Spiers Benjamin Award
Best reporting in any medium on Latin America

Richard Boudreaux (head), The Wall Street Journal
Tony Cavin, NPR
June Erlick, ReVista, the Harvard Review of Latin America
Ricardo Sandoval, PBS
Tracy Wilkinson, Los Angeles Times

The Kim Wall Award
Best story or series of stories on international affairs using creative and dynamic digital storytelling techniques

Mary Rajkumar (head), The Associated Press
Federica Narancio Genesi, Univision News Digital
Hanaan Sarhan, The New York Times
Raghuram Vadarevu, The Marshall Project

Mary Rajkumar recused herself from voting on the AP submission.

The Roy Rowan Award
Best investigative reporting in any medium on an international story

James B. Steele (head), author and independent journalist
Sarah Cohen, Arizona State University
Vernon Loeb, Inside Climate News
Jodi Schneider, Bloomberg Television and Radio
Joe Stephens, Princeton University

Vernon Loeb recused himself from voting on the New Yorker’s Seafood submission.

Jodi Schneider recused herself from voting on all Bloomberg submissions.

The Flora Lewis Award
Best commentary in any medium on international news

Scott MacLeod (head), former TIME
Jeff Bartholet, Newsweek
Emily Feng, NPR correspondent
Rick Lyman, former New York Times