July 9, 2020

People Column

Latest Issue

June 2020
SCHOLARS Sandali Handagama, winner of the 2020 Jerry Flint Fellowship for International Business Reporting, has landed an internship at CoinDesk. She will serve as reporter for the news site’s global macro and policy coverage on blockchain-based digital assets. Derek Kravitz, OPC board member and the OPC Foundation’s 2014 winner of the Harper’s Magazine Scholarship, has…
May 2020
SCHOLARS Stephen Kalin, Roy Rowan winner in 2013, has joined The Wall Street Journal as its new Middle East correspondent covering Saudi Arabia and the Gulf countries. Recently he was with Reuters, which he joined in 2013 as a trainee. He then became Egypt correspondent and later he was made Iraq correspondent. Most recently, he…
April 2020
SCHOLARS Kantaro Komiya, the OPC Foundation’s 2020 Stan Swinton Fellowship winner, was part of a team that was a finalist in the Society of Professional Journalists award in the category of Online In-Depth Reporting. The DePauw Solutions Journalism’s project, “Learning the Limits,” explored a campus drinking crisis which saw 19 DePauw students hospitalized for alcohol…
February-March 2020
In this installment of the People column, read about OPC Foundation scholars Anupreeta Das, Eva Dou, Ben Hubbard, Jonas Ekblom, Lisa Martine Jenkins, Dake Kang, Yi-Ling Liu and Neha Wadekar; awards for OPC Governor Josh Fine and former Governor Vivienne Walt, updates on OPC Governors, officers and members including Paula Dwyer, Kenneth R. Rosen, Krithika Varagur, Judith Matloff, Charles Graeber, Ishaan Tharoor, Rod Nordland, Thomas Goltz, Azmat Khan, and Deborah Amos; plus media news updates about the London Press Club, the Australian Associated Press, and the uncertain fate of Stars and Stripes.
January 2020
This month, read about OPC Foundation Scholars Marina Walker Guevara, A.J. Naddaff, Letícia Duarte, Alissa Greenberg, Nizar Manek, Jacob Kushner, Rajiv Golla, Ben Taub, Portia Crowe and Max de Haldevang; updates on Governors (past and present) and members including  Christiane Amanpour, Andy Katell, Paula Dwyer, Derek Kravitz, Azmat Khan, Sigrid Schultz, Ishaan Tharoor, Rebecca Fannin, Andrew Nagorski, Abigail Pesta and Leila Fadel, plus a remembrance of Karl E. Meyer.
November-December 2019
This month, read news about OPC Foundation scholars Dake Kang, Jonas Ekblom, Leticia Duarte, Audrey Gray, Jack Brook; accolades for OPC member Martyn Aim and OPC award winner Raney Aronson-Path; and updates on longtime OPC member Seymour Topping, former OPC Treasurer Abigail Pesta, Past President Bill Holstein, Governor Farnaz Fassihi, OPC members Hasan Mahmud and Kiran Nazish, OPC Award winners Jon Lee Anderson, Nariman El-Mofty and Lara Logan.
October 2019
This month, read news about OPC Foundation scholars Daphne Psaledakis, Echo Wang, Suman Naishadham, Tik Root and Marina Villeneuve; new accolades for OPC award winner Ginger Thompson; as well as updates on OPC Governors Martin Smith and Rod Nordland, former Treasurer Abigail Pesta, First Vice President Deborah Amos, OPC members Jim Huylebroek, Azad Essa, Robyn Dixon, and OPC award winner Cara Tallo.
September 2019
This month, catch up on updates about OPC Scholars Eli Binder, Rebecca Redelmeier, Leticia Duarte, Micah Danney, Sarah Dadouch, Patricia Rey Mallén, and Nizar Manek; awards news including Christiane Amanpour, Mort Rosenblum, Martha Mendoza, Julie K. Brown, Emily Michot, Rodrigo Abd, Nariman El-Mofty, Wa Lone, Kyaw Soe Oo, and Ed Ou; as well as news about current or past OPC Governors or officers Rod Nordland, Liam Stack, Vivienne Walt, Miriam Elder and Past President William J. Holstein, and OPC members Andrew Lluberes, Rebecca Fannin, John Koppisch, Peter Copeland, Rebecca Murray and Ilana Ozernoy, and notable OPC folks Abrahm Lustgarten, Maggie Steber, and Paritosh Bansal.
July-August 2019
In this issue’s People column, catch up on news about OPC scholar Yu Vongkiatkajorn, awards for OPC members Pat Milton and Martyn Aim; updates on OPC Governors Rod Nordland, Robert Nickelsberg and Vivienne Walt; Past Presidents Marcus Mabry and Deidre Depke; OPC members Cassandra Vinograd, Farnaz Fassihi and Amy Mackinnon; OPC award winners Trudy Rubin and Hannah Dreier, and a remembrance for veteran correspondent David Binder.
June 2019
This month, we catch up on OPC Foundation scholars Diksha Madhok, Leticia Duarte, and Maria Repnikova; new awards received by OPC past president David A. Andelman, OPC scholar Dake Kang, past OPC Award winners Nariman El-Mofty, Maggie Michael, Maad al-Zikry Wa Lone Kyaw and Soe Oo; and updates on cartoonists Heng Kim Song and Patrick Chappatte, OPC members David Fondiller, Johnathan Katz, Nicole Tung, and Anand Gopal, and OPC Governors Azmat Khan, Vivienne Walt and Minky Worden; as well as remembrances of OPC members Tony Horowitz and Bill Seamans.