August 17, 2022

Past Presidents

Past OPC President Archive

An archive of OPC presidents from the founding in 1939 to the present. The OPC is researching the names and terms of presidents from 1039 to 1946.

Pancho Bernasconi

Pancho Bernasconi is Vice President, Global News for Getty Images.

Deidre Depke

Deidre Depke is executive producer of The Takeaway.

Marcus Mabry

Marcus Mabry is the director of mobile and off platform at CNN.

Michael Serrill

Michael Serrill has been an OPC member for 19 years, and served as its President from 2012 to 2014. He has served several times as a member of the board, as second and third Vice President and as Secretary.

David A. Andelman

David A. Andelman is Editor of World Policy Journal. Previously he served as Executive Editor of, the world’s largest business and financial website. Earlier, he was a domestic and foreign correspondent for The New York Times in various posts in New York and Washington, Southeast Asia bureau chief, based in Bangkok, then East European bureau chief, based in Belgrade. He then moved to CBS News where he served for seven years as a Paris correspondent and has traveled through and reported from more than 60 countries.

Allan Dodds Frank

Allan Dodds Frank is a contributor to The Daily Beast, the website founded by Tina Brown. He has been a television correspondent for ABC News, CNN and Bloomberg. Frank has been an Overseas Press Club member since 1985, most recently served as second vice president and previously OPC treasurer, governor, chairman of the OPC Awards Committee and President of the Overseas Press Club Foundation, where he serves on the board and executive committee.

Marshall Loeb

Marshall Loeb was a working journalist since the age of 15, when he wrote high school sports stories for Chicago neighborhood newspapers for $2 a week.

Richard B. Stolley

Richard B. Stolley died on June 16, 2021, of heart complications in Evanston, Illinois at the age of 92. He was Senior Editorial Adviser at Time Inc., where he worked in various editorial jobs since 1953. He started his journalistic career at the age of 15, when he took over as sports editor of the Pekin, Illinois, Daily Times, while he was still attending high school. (The war was going on, adult males were in short supply and “the publisher didn’t want to hire a woman, so he hired a child instead” was the explanation). He worked for two newspapers after that, including the Chicago Sun-Times.

Alexis Gelber

A longtime top editor of Newsweek, Alexis Gelber supervised award-winning coverage of politics, social issues and international news as the magazine’s National Affairs Editor, Assistant Managing Editor, and Managing Editor of Newsweek International.

Larry Martz

The retired editor of World Press Review magazine, Larry Martz was a Newsweek staffer for 32 years, including assignments as business editor, national affairs editor, assistant managing editor and editor of Newsweek International. He was President of the Overseas Press Club of America from 2000 to 2002, and served as co-chairman of its Freedom of the Press Committee.

Roy Rowan

Roy Rowan, OPC President from 1998-2000 and OPC member for 62 years was a revered journalist.

John Corporon

John Corporon won numerous awards from the New Orleans Press Club, local Emmys in New York and a national Emmy in 1964 as executive producer for a documentary on the Ku Klux Klan. He retired in 1996 and was elected president of the OPC.

Bill Holstein

Bill Holstein has been involved in international journalism since being dispatched to Hong Kong in 1979 as a young United Press International correspondent. After winning an OPC award for his coverage of China’s economic modernization, he rose to became Beijing bureau chief and returned to the United States in 1982.

Larry Smith

Larry Smith was born in Michigan in 1940, and graduated from the University of Michigan with a degree in English in 1962. He began his newspaper career with The Wyoming Eagle in Cheyenne, and subsequently worked as a reporter and editor with five newspapers, including The New York Daily News and The New York Times.

H.L. Stevenson
Leonard Saffir

Leonard Saffir spent a major part of his working career as a reporter, foreign correspondent, editor, columnist, publisher and author. He died died Jan. 3, 2015 in Lake Worth, Fla. He was 84.

Herbert Kupferberg
Anita Diamant
1982-1984 and 1984-1986
Henry Gellermann
1978-1980 and 1980-1982
Matthew A.R. Bassity
Jack Raymond
1972-1974 and 1974-1976
Will Oursler
Hal Lehrman
1962-1964 and 1968-1970
Victor Riesel
Merrill Mueller
Barrett McGurn
Will Yolen
Richard J.H. Johnston
John Luter
John Wilhelm
Thomas P. Whitney
Cecil Brown
Wayne Richardson
Louis P. Lochner
J. Clifford Stark
William P. Gray
John Daly
Louis P. Lochner
Frank Kelley
Joseph B. Phillips
Bob Considine
1947-1948 and 1954-1955