OPC Award Judges

OPC Award Judges for work published in 2022:

Head judge: John Daniszewski, The Associated Press

The Hal Boyle Award

Best newspaper, news service or digital reporting from abroad

Peter Spiegel (head), Financial Times

Julian Barnes, The New York Times

Anna Fiefield, The Washington Post

Tom Nuttall, The Economist

Nancy Yussef, The Wall Street Journal

Nancy Yussef recused herself from voting on the Wall Street Journal submission on Ukraine coverage.

The Bob Considine Award

Best newspaper, news service or digital interpretation of international affairs

Barbara Demick (head), author

Geraldine Baum, PEN America

Gady Epstein, The Economist 

Carlos Rajo, Charter Communications

Keith Richburg, Hong Kong University

Gady Epstein recused himself from voting on The Economist’s submission.

Photo Categories

The Robert Capa Gold Medal Award

Best photographic reporting from abroad requiring exceptional courage and enterprise published in any medium

The Olivier Rebbot Award

Best photographic news reporting from abroad published in any medium

The Feature Photography Award

Best feature photography on an international theme published in any medium

The Photo Category Jury

Daniella Zalcman (head), Women Photograph

Peter DiCampo, Everyday Projects

Adriana Garcia, Catchlight

Leonor Mamanna, Bloomberg Businessweek 

Tara Pixley, Temple University, Authority Collective

The Lowell Thomas Award

Best radio, audio, or podcast coverage of international affairs

Brian Carovillano (head), NBCU News Group

Amanda Barrett, The Associated Press

Amir Bibawy, Marketplace

Pam Johnston, WGBH

The David Kaplan Award

Best TV or video spot news reporting from abroad

David A. Andelman (head), Substack: Andelman Unleashed

Jim Bittermann, CNN

Paul Brandus, West Wing Reports

Scotti Williston, former CBS   

Jim Bittermann recused himself from voting on CNN’s submission.

The Edward R. Murrow Award

Best TV, video or documentary interpretation of international affairs with a run time up to 30 minutes

Vivienne Walt (head), TIME, FORTUNE

Ric Esther Bienstock, Good Soup Productions

Jeffrey Blount, Author, former NBC News

Nevine Mabro, Channel 4

Steven Mufson, The Washington Post

Jyoti Thottam, The New York Times

The Peter Jennings Award

Best TV, video or documentary about international affairs with a run time over 30 minutes

Paula Dwyer (head), Bloomberg

Rebecca Corbett, The New York Times

Josh Fine, HBO’s “Real sports with Bryant Gumbel”

Patricia Guerra, ABC News Nightline

Abi Wright, Columbia School of Journalism  

The Ed Cunningham Award

Best magazine-style, long-form narrative feature in print or digital on an international story

Megan K. Stack (head), author

Thanassis Cambanis, Century International, author

Annie Gowen, The Washington Post 

Nahid Siamdoust, University of Texas-Austin, author

Tim Sullivan, The Associated Press

The Best Cartoon Award

Best print or digital graphic journalism, including cartoons, on international affairs

Rob Rogers (chair), freelance

Kevin Kallaugher (KAL), The Economist, The Baltimore Sun, Counterpoint

Tony Norman, NEXTpittsburgh

Jenny Robb, Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum, Ohio State University

The Morton Frank Award

Allan Dodds Frank, former Business Investigative Correspondent for ABC and other networks

Laurie Hays, Laurie Hays & Assoc.

William Holstein, OPC Foundation

Michael LaForgia, The New York Times

The Malcolm Forbes Award

Best international business news reporting in newspapers, news services, magazines or digital

Noreen Gillespie (chair), The Associated Press  

Courtney Bonnell, The Associated Press

Mark Decambre, Marketwatch

Kevin Grant, Report for the World

The Cornelius Ryan Award

Best non-fiction book on international affairs

Daniel Hertzberg (head), former Wall Street Journal

John Bussey: The Wall Street Journal

Kathryn Harris: former Los Angeles Times, various business publications

Jennifer Siebens, former CBS

Richard Tofel, Gallatin Advisory LLC

The Madeline Dane Ross Award

Best international reporting in the print medium or digital showing a concern for the human condition

Hannah Allam (chair), The Washington Post

Jacqueline Charles, The Miami Herald

Jina Moore, Guernica

Prashant Rao, Semafor

Andrew Sussman, NPR

The David A. Andelman and Pamela Title Award

Best international TV, video, radio, audio or podcast reporting showing a concern for the human condition

Deidre Depke (chair), OPC Past President

John Avlon, CNN

Anup Kaphle, Rest of World

Derek Kravitz, ProPublica

Minky Worden, Human Rights Watch

The Joe and Laurie Dine Award

Best international reporting in any medium dealing with human rights

Jeff Fleishman (chair), Los Angeles Times

Shashank Bengali, The New York Times

Louise Roug Bokkenheuser, writer and editor

Bob Drogin, editor and writer

Efrain Hernandez Jr., The Washington Post

Shashank Bengali recused himself from deliberations on the New York Times entry and the final award.

The Whitman Bassow Award

Best reporting in any medium on international environmental issues

Kim Murphy (head), The New York Times

Neela Banerjee, NPR

Marla Cone, CalMatters

Michael Kodas, Inside Climate News

Alan Zarembo, Los Angeles Times

The Robert Spiers Benjamin Award

Best reporting in any medium on Latin America

Richard Boudreaux (head), The Wall Street Journal

Tony Cavin, NPR

Hannah Dreier, The New York Times

June Erlick, ReVista: The Harvard Review of Latin America

Ricardo Sandoval, PBS

Hannah Dreier recused herself from voting in the final round.

The Kim Wall Award

Best story or series of stories on international affairs using creative and dynamic storytelling techniques

Mary Rajkumar (head), The Associated Press

Robert Friedman, Bloomberg

Mark Scheffler, The New York Times

Raghu Vadarevu, The Marshall Project

The Roy Rowan Award

Best investigative reporting in any medium on an international story

James B. Steele (head), author and independent journalist

Sarah Cohen, Arizona State University

Vernon Loeb, Inside Climate News

Jodi Schneider, Bloomberg

Joe Stephens, Princeton University

The Flora Lewis Award

Best commentary in any medium on international news

Scott MacLeod (head), former TIME

Rozina Ali, New York Times Magazine contributor

Nazila Fathi, former New York Times

Emily Feng, NPR

Rick Lyman, former New York Times