The David Kaplan Award 2014

Best TV or video spot news reporting from abroad


AWARD NAME: The David Kaplan Award 2014

RECIPIENT: Nick Schifrin, Philip Maravilla and Ben Mulkey

AFFILIATION: Al Jazeera America

HONORED WORK: “Conflict in Gaza”

The reporting of Nick Schifrin and his crew from Gaza for Al Jazeera America distinguished itself in a field crowded with excellence. It offered a seamless shifting of perspective from both sides of the border; empathy shown by reports from, in some cases, the living rooms of the ordinary people caught in the crossfire; and brevity and wit in writing.

Watch the submitted clips on Al Jazeera America >>

Citation for Excellence:

Holly Williams, Agnes Reau, Erin Lyall, Justine Redman, Abdi Cadani and Andy Stevenson
The CBS Evening News With Scott Pelley
“Holy War”