August 17, 2022

Event Coverage Highlight

PHOTOS & VIDEO: OPC Awards Dinner

The OPC’s 80th Annual Awards Dinner featured keynote remarks from Martin Baron, the executive editor of The Washington Post, who said that amid increasing attacks on the press that journalists and advocates of free expression around the must give “unwavering, unambiguous, forceful, principled support” to the world’s independent press. David Ignatius, an associate editor and columnist for The Washington Post, lit the Candle of Remembrance in honor of murdered Post columnist Jamal Khashoggi and more than 50 other journalists worldwide killed in connection with their work in 2018. Lester Holt, anchor of NBC Nightly News and Dateline NBC was the awards presenter.

Please scroll down and click on the photo tiles below to link directly to each of the award pages, where you can see videos of recipients’ speeches receiving this year’s 21 awards.


To watch a playlist of clips from the Annual Awards Dinner,
click on the window below.


>> Or click on this link to see the whole playlist on YouTube and select the clip you want to view from a list. <<


Keynote from Martin Baron

Washington Post Executive Editor Martin Baron delivers the keynote address at the Annual Awards Dinner.

Maggie Steber Receives the OPC President’s Award

Veteran photojournalist Maggie Steber, a 1988 OPC Award winner who has worked in 64 countries, accepts this year’s President’s Award.


Slideshow from the Annual Awards Dinner:

Maggie Steber, left, receives the President’s Award from Pancho Bernasconi. Photo: Steve Moore

Martin Baron, keynote speaker. Photo: Steve Moore

David Rohde. Photo: Steve Moore

David Ignatius lights the Candle of Remembrance. Photo: Steve Moore

Lester Holt, awards presenter. Photo: Steve Moore

Sarah Lubman, chair of the dinner committee. Photo: Steve Moore

Left to right: Mike Chase, Patrick Chappatte, and Leah Spiro.Photo: Steve Moore

Michael Serrill, left, and Trudy Rubin. Photo: Steve Moore

Left to right: Jon Sawyer, Patricia Kranz, Kem Sawyer.Photo: Steve Moore

Left to right: Maggie Steber, Pancho Bernasconi and Nina Berman. Photo: Steve Moore

Patricia Kranz, left, and Andrea Bergman. Photo: Steve Moore

Doug Jehl, left, and Paula Dwyer. Photo: Steve Moore

Jeffrey Stern, left, and Trudy Rubin. Photo: Steve Moore

Pancho Bernasconi, left, and OPC Executive Director Patricia Kranz. Photo: Steve Moore

David Andelman, left, and Han Tjan. Photo: Steve Moore

David Ignatius. Photo: Steve Moore

Left to right: Laura King, Betsy Kraft, Scott Kraft and Tracy Wilkinson. Photo: Steve Moore

Bronwyn Starr, left, and Brian Byrd. Photo: Steve Moore

Vivienne Walt, left, and Patricia Kranz. Photo: Steve Moore

Left to right: Minky Worden, Gordon Crovitz and Melissa Ng. Photo: Steve Moore

Click on the award images below to see individual award pages with video clips of each acceptance speech.


Photos: Steve Moore

The Hal Boyle Award

The Bob Considine Award

The Robert Capa Gold Medal Award

The Olivier Rebbot Award

Best Feature Photography Award



The David Kaplan Award

The Edward R. Murrow Award

The Peter Jennings Award

The Ed Cunningham Award

The Best Cartoon Award

The Morton Frank and Malcolm Forbes Award

The Cornelius Ryan Award

The Madeline Dane Ross Award

The David A. Andelman and Pamela Title Award

The Joe and Laurie Dine Award

The Whitman Bassow Award

The Robert Spiers Benjamin Award

The Kim Wall Award

The Roy Rowan Award

The Flora Lewis Award